GUEST POST

     “Overcoming my Fears to Write a Book”

by Glenn Gamble

     I never thought I would write fiction, let alone write five books at the time of publication.  Author Teresa D. Patterson suggested that I write fiction after reading my daily blog on MySpace.  I thought she was out of her mind.  In fact, I laughed at the notion that I would be writing some make-believe story, but she tricked me shortly after.  One day, I spoke with her on the telephone and she told me that she was working on this book entitled Ex-Boyfriend, and that she wanted my insight on how a young obnoxious office worker would come across when hitting on a beautiful woman who was over 10 years his senior.  Of course, I had no problem offering my help to ensure that the character came across as realistic as possible.  Being the ego driven person I am, I thought that this would lend more credibility to MySpace blog; which had become a collection of my thoughts on dating at that time of my life.  Once the book was finished I said to myself “that was a lot of work, but pretty fun.”  That’s when I wrote A Thousand Chances.

     At the time I wrote ATC, I was very nervous because I didn’t know what I was doing; to simply put it, I was an amateur.  I had no idea why I should write an outline, I didn’t understand my own writing style, and I wasn’t sure if I could write a book by myself.  Then I began to question myself.  “Can I write a book that people will actually like?”  I wasn’t sure of the answer, but I plodded along, and wrote at the seat of my pants.  It seemed like the right thing to do at the time.  Three weeks later, my first book was completed.  A Thousand Chances was ready to hit shelves, until I ordered the books.  Selling them hand to hand and trying to get them into bookstores was a more daunting task than I realized.  As a result, several print copies are still sitting in my mother’s garage in boxes that were never opened.  I gave up writing.

     Then two years later, my friend Teresa D. Patterson told me that she uploaded her backlist on this Kindle thing, and she sold a bunch of books.  I witnessed her own struggle to sell books years ago.  I was proud of her.  Knowing an author personally who makes a living doing what she loves to do inspired me to start writing again, but where do I begin.  First of all, what’s a Kindle.  Second, how do I format for the thing.  This was scary stuff to me.  Instead of focusing on what I found intimidating, I went ahead and put together my first story in two years, Bon Appétit.  Once I was done, I sent it off to an editor, made the suggested corrections and I read the formatting guidelines for Kindle.  With a little trial and error, I was able to upload my first Kindle book.  Then a few days later, I did the same for A Thousand Chances and uploaded it.  After that, I’ve been writing a bunch of stories and publishing them on Kindle, Nook, and Smashwords.

     So how did I overcome my fears?  I just opened up Microsoft Word and started writing.  I found that once you face your fears, you realize that you really over-magnified the thing that you feared.

     Glenn Gamble is the author of A Thousand Chances, Bon Appetit, Escape, On the Run, and James.  All of his books are available on Amazon Kindle http://www.amazon.com/Glenn-Gamble/e/B002BMGSVK and Barnes and Noble Nook (link) and Smashwords (link)

     He also encourages you to go to his website http://www.GlennGamble.com.

Leave a Reply

