Review: The Skin I’m In

The Skin I'm In
The Skin I’m In by Sharon G. Flake
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“The Skin I’m In” by Sharon G. Flake was amazing…the author really weaved a very good story together describing how, as a teen, you go through peer pressure from your so-called friends and, sometimes, just don’t end up doing the right thing. She also does a great job of depicting the thoughts of Maleeka who just doesn’t like the skin she’s in…until a teacher came along that changed all that, and made her realize that it’s okay to be who you are and like who you are.
Miss Saunders has a blotch of white patch on her face, but that doesn’t stop her from being the best she can be with what she’s got. The author even goes into Miss Saunders own insecurities about herself making readers feel, who will probably most likely be pre-teens, that teachers have feeling to and go through the same thing we go through.
I thought this book was awesome for the age group it was written for…it will definitely be a book that I recommend to pre-teen and teens I know. “The Skin I’m In” could also be a great read for anyone who’s having issues with accepting themselves for who they are.

I give it 5 stars.

P.S.  “The Skin I’m In” was provided on-loan from my local library.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

