Review: Growing up Amish

Growing up Amish
Growing up Amish by Ira Wagler
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“Growing up Amish” by Ira Wagner grappled with faith and challenged the belief that the ideals you grow up with are right. It is an honest account by the author himself of how he grew up and struggled to remain stedfast in a world that seemed to strangle every sense of himself from himself. Still, miraculously, he kept coming back again and again believing that the Amish way, the way of his people, was the only “true” way to live and go to Heaven. This was an ideal that was ingrained in him, that he grew up with. However, as he finds out over a journey of five years, it wasn’t so. He could live the life he wanted and still have faith, and he would be better because of it.
I really liked this book. Reading about different cultures is always fascinating to me, and I just love how Wagner describes Amish people and their beliefs. He really lays it all out for his reader, and, unlike most, doesn’t leave many questions unanswered.

I give it 5 stars.

To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of “Growing up Amish” in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Growing up Amish

Leave a comment