Review: Over in the Meadow

Over in the Meadow (Picture Books)Over in the Meadow by Ezra Jack Keats
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Over in the Meadow” by Ezra Jack Keats was a really nice read to go over with my daughter…the pictures in the book worked very well with the text, and the rhyming of the text made for a very effective sound for my daughter. I believe it helps young readers starting out if they have that “sing-song” effect with their words, helping them relate more words to each other along the way.

As a parent, I really enjoyed the fact that this book was educational – it helped my daughter with her numbers. As we went through the book, each page ascended to the next number…1, 2, 3…to 10, and each picture showed the items in that corresponding number. I thought that was good for the author to do that…especially since the book is geared more toward young children.

Overall, I just really like Keats’ books. Period.

P.S. My daughter received “Over in the Meadow” through Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library.  It’s a great program, allowing your child to receive 1 book a month from birth to 5-years old.

I give it 4 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

