Review: Dead Until Dark

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1)Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Dead Until Dark” by Charlaine Harris was good, and I’m glad I accepted the reading challenge to read one of her books. I never had before, but I do like to stay open to different genres. This book, with it’s inclusion of vampires and a shapeshifter, was a little different for me. I’m not accustomed to reading books about the paranormal, but it was actually okay. In this story, the vampires and a shapeshifter and, even Sookie’s “gift,” is treated as normal and accepted as a way of life in this town which was a little eerie for me, but I got over it quick.

I enjoyed the story plot, and wanted the read the book whenever I could. I believe it was mostly due to the fact that it was so different from what I normally read. I was fascinated by that. Also, the mystery woven into the plot with it’s series of murders had me wondering “whodunit,” and it was surprising at the end to find out who did.

I give it 3 stars.

P.S.  “Dead Until Dark” was provided on-loan from my local library.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Dead Until Dark

  1. I definitely have not read any paranormal books however I to am thinking of venturing out of my reading zone this year to read genre i haven’t. after reading your review I may give it a try.

Comments are closed.