Review: Welcome, Precious

Welcome, PreciousWelcome, Precious by Nikki Grimes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Welcome, Precious” by Nikki Grimes was okay. I enjoyed it in that it portrayed an African-American family in a positive light – just enjoying their child, and I believe that it’s very important for my daughter to view those types of scenes. However, as I was reading it to my daughter, I noticed the language was a bit “over-her-head.” I mean, while the words were simple, there were too many to go with just the one picture, and they did not call for the reader to be interactive at all. I think that, as a result, this caused my daughter to linger more and listen instead of being interactive with the book like she was in “Whose Knees are These” and “Whose Toes are Those” by Jabari Asim just to name a few.

I give it 3 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

