Review: A New Day

A New DayA New Day by Margaret Johnson-Hodge
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“A New Day” by Margaret Johnson-Hodge was a, surprisingly, really good read. And, I say that because, when I first started reading this book, I did not care for the main characters, Carol-Anne, at all. At one point, I didn’t even want to finish the book, but I was determined to get through it. Partly, because I really liked her boyfriend, Max, so much. I wanted to find out what would happen with them.

Also, another reason why I didn’t so much care for the book at first, is because Carol-Anne went against one of the rules that I did agree with Steven Harvey on in “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment,” and this ended up causing a great rift between Carol-Anne and her daughter, Nadia.

However, this book makes a remarkable turn around, going from a meager 2-star read to a solid 4 because, as I’m reading the book, I realize that one of the reasons I didn’t too much care for Carol-Ann in the beginning is because she was similar to myself. I could read a lot of my qualities in her. And, not just me, but a lot of women.

I’m so happy that I kept reading this book…it was almost similar to baking a cake. Starting off, it doesn’t look like the individual ingredients will add up to too much. But, after you mix them together, and let them bake a little bit, you end up with this delicious-tasting desert. That’s what Ms. Johnson-Hodge served us.

I give it 4 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

