Review: High on Arrival

High on ArrivalHigh on Arrival by Mackenzie Phillips
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“High on Arrival” by Mackenzie Phillips was an awesome story…watching her on “One Day at a Time”, I never would have realized that she had such a difficult, and challenging life….but she did. And, she survived.

I guess I always took for granted that a child had proper parental guidance as they grow up to make sure they do not go the wrong way.  However, this was not the case with Mackenzie Phillips.  She was often left to fend for herself in a world that did not care whether she did the right thing…a world that turned its back on her and did not love her back.

As a result, she turned to the only comfort she knew – cocaine…drugs.  And, they kept her comfortable until she became an adult…so unstable that she didn’t even know how to live a proper and correct life.  So, what did she do?  Guess?

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves reading about celebrity lives…especially child stars.  You think they have such a great life, then reality hits…

I give it 5 stars.

View all my reviews

P.S. “High on Arrival” was provided on-loan from my local library.

